Mini documentary about Torquay United (First Look Media)

Discuss everything TUFC with fans across the globe.
aaronernst
New Signing
New Signing

Mini documentary about Torquay United (First Look Media)

Post by aaronernst »

Hi all,

I'm a freelance producer for US-based First Look Media. The company produces in-depth feature films (it won an Oscar in 2016 for the film Spotlight) as well as shorter-length mini-documentaries. I'm helping them to develop a digital sports-based series focusing on teams and individuals who have persevered in the face of long odds. Our director read about the team's near relegation in the 1986-87 season, the intervention of Bryn etc., and asked me to reach out to learn more.

Would anyone be able to put me in touch with former players who were at that match? I'd also love to speak with long-time fans of the club who could give me a broader history of the club.

Finally, from what I've read, Torquay is playing an incredibly important match this Saturday. I'd love to speak with anyone who might be there, and who could give me advice about how to obtain footage.

I'm based in Washington DC, so any delay in response will likely be due to the time difference.

Many thanks.

Aaron Ernst
westyorkshiregull
Top Scorer
Top Scorer
Favourite player: mark loram

Post by westyorkshiregull »

Sounds exciting I love the 1980s stuff
I went every game that season

have the entire match against Crewe at the end of the 86/87 on DVD and it's on my YouTube channel .

I sent Mario Walsh a couple years ago a copy of the match programme for that game so possible contact there.
Somes gems in that year that should have the next year got promoted

Mark loram ..greatest talent I've ever seen
Paul Dobson.. last few games Williams has reminded me of him...getting in right areas and producing the goods.
Jim mcnichol ...solid as you like
aaronernst
New Signing
New Signing

Post by aaronernst »

Thanks for the quick reply, much appreciated!