Restrictive Covenant on Plainmoor

Discuss everything TUFC with fans across the globe.
portugull
Plays for Country
Plays for Country
Favourite player: lee mansell
Watches from: Bristow’s Bench

Restrictive Covenant on Plainmoor

Post by portugull »

It is my understanding that the land on which Plainmoor sits has a restrictive covenant which basically means that the land can only be used for leisure purposes.

A restrictive covenant binds the land and not the parties personally. In other words the restrictive covenant `runs with the land`. This means that the covenant continues even when the original parties to the covenant sell the land on to other people. Such covenants continue to have effect even though they were made many years ago and appear to be obsolete. I am not an expert by any means on this subject but I do know that the Lands Tribunal has powers under Section 86 of the Law of Property Act 1925 to dissolve or relax covenants that appear to be out of date or unreasonable.

I thought I would start this thread because GI are clearly aware of the covenant and obviously feel confident that they could succeed in getting the covenant either dissolved or relaxed.

I wonder if any of the fans who use this site might have a knowledge of the subject particularly if they work or have worked in the legal profession.
knightmaregull
Out on Loan
Out on Loan

Post by knightmaregull »

I think it comes down to who has the benefit of the covenant. If it just the Council (which is quite likely) then they can simply release the covenant as part of the sale. If the covenant is simply referred to in the lease alone then by acquiring the freehold GI would effectively get rid of the covenant as they would own both freehold and leasehold interest and could merge the two. There's no doubt GI have this one covered off as part of their grand plans. Let's just hope there are enough councillors not already in their pockets to stand up against their now clear for all to see agenda.